Day 1 of 21 – Sugar Detox

Day 1 of 21 – Sugar Detox.

Well folks, it was harder than I thought it would be.  I thought: “I eat so close to this anyway (meat, veggies, rarely dairy, low sugar), that it shouldn’t be any problem to get on the strict phase of  the The 21-Day Sugar Detox and cut out dairy and the sugar.”  Well, who knew all the extras I was consuming?  It’s all the little things that have crept in over time; the BLT’s – bites, licks, tastes.  It’s like the small taste of my kid’s natural peanut butter or maybe a little cream in my coffee.  I realized a little too late that the whey protein shake I just drank after my workout… isn’t on my plan.  Time to get serious.

So lunch with my gym girls was yummy at a nearby Azar’s Mediterranean Cafe. Too bad the owner wants to sell; it’s in order to spend more time with her teenage son.  I get it, but am bummed we won’t be able to dine here much longer.  Coming out into the sunshine afterwards was so uplifting too!  Still, at home afterwards I was craving something sweet.  I had olives and raw pecans instead.

Then, before I was able to get dinner ready I was wanting food again. I’m thinking that I was procrastinating about doing a couple of things around the house. Hmmmm.  Well, in effort not to go off plan: eat peanut butter by the spoonful or fruit like crazy – I chose some leftover meatballs.  Hey! They say to lose weight, we need to take in nearly 1 gram of protein for every pound of body weight.  So, thankfully those held me over.  Too bad later, while in the car, I really wanted my usual sugar free mints.  Now I know the artificial sweeteners spike blood sugar just like the real thing except don’t satisfy, plus are full of chemicals and side effects, and yet I haven’t been able to kick them to the curb yet.  Surely the liquid Aveda breath freshening drops aren’t too artificial.  What? no ingredient list?

At least my girls enjoyed the Texas Chili I made for dinner, hot as it is!:-)  It’s so flavorful that beans aren’t even needed. The temperature is just right for me, but maybe next time I’ll only use half a jalapeno and cut back on the green chili’s and spices.

Tomorrow I plan to write down the food I eat and any thoughts/reasons why I’m feeling a certain way or wanting what I want 🙂

Off to bed now.  I hope you all had a nice hump day and are making plans to come out to TheGarageGamesOne this weekend! We are getting ready!

2 responses to “Day 1 of 21 – Sugar Detox

  1. Ok, when you said you were procrastinating about doing something around the house…..that totally makes sense. I think I fill in that gap with something sweet too. Sometimes it’s easy to confuse thirst with hunger. I’m still ok, although I am really missing gum. And the oranges on the counter are looking at me.

  2. thirst with hunger…interesting. I still don’t think I get enough water even with all of the water I do drink. Gonna have to add that lemon and lime! Extra flavor in your water…yummmm

Leave a Reply

